Today, I realized that I’m obsessed with a website about other peoples’ failures. FML.

home-aloneI’m not a sadist, I swear. I like it when other people are happy. That’s why I love hanging around delivery rooms and preschools. So I don’t know what it is that has drawn me and the rest of America’s youth to the website fmylife.com. Maybe this is some weird after effect of Tang. I’ll admit that after Juicy Campus shut down I was very worried about the future of trashy internet websites. But straight from heaven came fmylife.com. Thank God.

The top FML of fmylife.com’s nascent existence is as follows:

Today, I received my passport in the mail. They got my birthdate wrong. Then I picked up my birth certificate that I had sent in with the application. Turns out my parents have been celebrating my birthday on the wrong day for 16 years. FML

Funny? Yes? A good conversation starter? Maybe. Incredibly traumatizing and representative of much larger issues for this young man or woman? Certainly. In the interest of upholding the values of this blog, I won’t post any of the other top FMLs. But from my experience, the fact that the top FML doesn’t involve oral sex, a cell phone with raunchy pictures, or a vibrator (or any combination of these) is a miracle.

Yes I know, this website seems sleazier than many large state Governors and Idaho senators. To make it worse, I would classify all this as slapstick comedy- a genre that I thought I had graduated from after the Home Alone series, specifically Home Alone 4: Taking Back the House. I guess not.

I am not going to diagnose the American youth. I can’t tell you what is wrong with us. I’m not a psychologist, I’m a journalist. What I can tell you is that while I may rant and rave about this epidemic, I myself have been trying in vain to think of a funny post for this website. But it appears that my life is too mundane. FML?

1 Response to “Today, I realized that I’m obsessed with a website about other peoples’ failures. FML.”


  1. 1 juliendenoyer March 2, 2009 at 11:02 pm

    Good website…http://mylifeiscrap.com actually was the unofficial english version until, FML was lunched a couple of month later. Viedemerde.fr is the original website…


Leave a Reply

