Why I Like Magic, Wizards and Dragons, or, Why I’m Not a Loser

harry-potter-and-the-half-blood-princeBirthdays are usually occasions to remember, however there is one birthday that I am still trying to forget. It was January 26th, 2001 and I was turning 11. Sure I got new video games and some sweet jerseys, but I never got what I really wanted. You see, ever since I read Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone, there was only one thing I wanted for my birthday—an invitation to Hogwarts.

That was eight years ago, and here I am today, contemplating whether I should dress up and go see the film adaptation of the sixth book. I was initially leaning towards donning the cape and nerd glasses for the premier, but I realized that it would be totally uncharacteristic of me to do something that bizarre (also, I have work tomorrow morning).

However this decision got me thinking—just what is it about Harry Potter, Ron Weasley and Hermione Lee Granger that has me so excited? I admit, I did once have a supernatural craze, but that went out of style with Lunchables (and my decision that Melissa Joan Hart was actually very annoying). But my love for the Harry Potter series has stayed with me to this day. Why?

I’m not completely sure about this, but it’s the best answer I could think of.

 

In contrast to The Lord of the Rings or The Chronicles of Narnia, the Harry Potter books are realistic (sort of). When I write that I mean Harry, Ron and Hermione confront the same problems that we do. Yeah, the characters do take a magic train to an enchanted wizarding school where they learn how to perform spells, but other than that, their lives aren’t that different. At Hogwarts, the drama is about who snogged who. Same here. At Hogwarts, everyone goes to the sports games to cheer on their team. Same here. At Hogwarts, performing magic in the presence of muggles is strictly prohibited because it will only confuse and perplex the bewitched bystanders. Same here.

Unlike Bewitched or Up, Up, and Away, Harry Potter and the gang also have a little drama in their lives. They grow up, they struggle with their parents, they die and come back to life, etc. Harry Potter isn’t just a character in a movie killing the bad guy, he’s a normal person who happens to be the savior of witches and wizards everywhere.

And that’s pretty cool.

0 Responses to “Why I Like Magic, Wizards and Dragons, or, Why I’m Not a Loser”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

