Things that cheer me up when I’m feeling blue

Like most people, I occasionally get blue. When I am blue, I turn to the internet for help.

No, not like that, perv. I search for things that brighten my day. However, this task is not as easy as it sounds. My spirits are not easily raised. In fact, I have heard of many classic pick-me-uppers which only make me more depressed.

Many people like to watch It’s A Wonderful Life when they’re sad. Personally, I think that’s a mistake. My reasons are twofold. First, it’s a Christmas movie. I can only watch Christmas movies from Thanksgiving to Christmas Day. Sorry. Just can’t do it. Second, its length poses a problem. The movie is approximately 130 minutes long, and most of those 130 is depressing. George is unhappy and poor. He is mistreated and downtrodden. Of course, the final 10 minutes more than make up for this and are spectacular. But, if I’m feeling down, I don’t want to watch 115 minutes of a guy who feels almost as bad as I do.

Some people like to watch videos of kittens or babies doing cute things. This is another nonstarter for me. Some videos may be cute, but that cuteness is overshadowed by the weirdness I feel when I watch a stranger’s cat/baby.

So, here are five things that do cheer me up.

Things that just missed the cut: That Obama song by Will. I. Am, This clip of Peyton Manning yelling at Donald Brown for missing a blitzer WHILE he’s rolling out of the pocket, Zach Galiafianakis, Good Life by Kanye West ft. T-Pain, Highlights of Michael Jordan’s Bulls teams, and Boobs

5. Arrested Development– AD provides the perfect escape from the blues. Not only was it the funniest television show ever created, it was smart. It immersed you in its world so fully that it’s difficult to feel bothered or upset when watching. The characters are so ridiculous and the writing so damn good that it cheers me up everytime.

4. I Wanna Be Like YouYup. From The Jungle Book. What can I say? It’s so damn cute and the beat is infectious. I cannot frown when watching this song. Plus, it provides an ego boost. The song’s about a monkey who’s dying to become human. As a human, naturally, I am flattered.

3. Lil’ Herb BrooksAdorable. I know what you’re thinking. Doesn’t this violate my previous rule about cats/babies? No. That was not a cat reciting the speech from Miracle. Also, it wasn’t a baby. No baby, no cat, no problem.

2. DeNiro in GoodfellasThis is film making at its finest. No human being has ever looked more awesome. Fact: Watching this clip makes you 65% cooler. I don’t smoke, but if I did, this scene would be the reason why.

1. The Scrubs Season 8 Finale Hands down the best finale for any show, ever. This clip provides a perfect mix of nostalgia, sentimentality, and humor. It hits me in all the right places. Furthermore, unlike the videos that occupy spots 2-5, this one puts things in perspective. It just doesn’t distract me from sadness, it helps me deal with it. Perfect.


1 Response to “Things that cheer me up when I’m feeling blue”


  1. 1 GreggB June 5, 2016 at 8:48 pm

    My cat seems to know when I’m sad. She always wants petted when I come home but if I’m upset she hops on my lap and nuzzles me repeatedly. She only does that if I’m crying which is not to often. When I found out that my Mom had passed I came home and went to my bedroom and closed the door. My wife hadn’t gotten home from work yet. I don’t think I’ve ever cried but once or twice in front of her. My sweet kitty somehow got into the bedroom and was chirping and making the sweetest of noises that I’ve NEVER heard her do since. Almost like she was trying to talk to me and comfort me. She nuzzled me cheek to cheek and she didn’t leave my side for the rest of the day. That night my wife said she came into our bedroom to check on me and my kitty “Dobie” was curled up in a ball on my lap but she was awake. My wife went to take “Dobie” off of my lap and feed her but when she went to pick her up she hissed and growled like she was saying “MY DADDY IS SAD AND ONLY I CAN MAKE HIMFEEL BETTER SO BACK OFF!!!!” My wife closed the door and left. When she came back to go to bed Dobie was curled under my arm with her head on my chest. The two cats we have are really our special furry friends.


Leave a Reply

