My Life as Jim Halpert: The Ground Rules

A few years ago I was told by a friend that my mannerisms and personality reminded him of Jim Halpert of The Office. I have heard this sentiment be echoed a few times since. This is not entirely a coincidence. I would be lying if I said I did not intentionally pattern my sense of humor and facial expressions after Jim’s.

Obviously, I am not nearly as beloved as Jim. I do not have strangers making t-shirts with my name on them. Nor have I inspired love letter styled blog posts from women whom I have never met. I think my mom likes me more than she likes Jim, though.

As I look at all these public displays of affection towards Jim and countless girls profess their love for Jim, it makes me wonder. Could I aim to replicate Jim  in hopes of inspiring similar overtures?

In order to find out, I have decided to spend Monday-Friday of this week as Jim Halpert.

First, there are ground rules I need to establish.

1. I am spending the week as Jim Halpert not John Krasinski.

This is John Krasinski. I will NOT be trying to be him. photo credit Will Hummel

It is much easier for people to love John Krasinski than it is Jim Halpert. Krasinski is, after all, a multi-millionaire actor. I cannot hope to replicate Krasinski. He is rich, tall, and famous. I am none of those three. Jim Halpert, on the other hand, lives a modest life style, (check), not famous, (check) and is only about 15 inches tall, depending on the size of your television screen. (I actually have Jim beat. I am taller.) I can replicate Jim, I cannot replicate Krasinski.

2. I can only say/do things which Jim Halpert would reasonably say or do.

This rule might be a little bit tricky. After all, the audience only knows so much about Jim. Certain questions, such as what I should eat for lunch everyday, are provided for me. (Jim Halpert eats a ham and cheese sandwich everyday. Season 2, Episode 17.) Other questions have no answers. For instance, how much effort would Jim put into an assigned class reading for Contemporary Societies of the Middle East? This are things I think I will just have to judge on a case by case basis and see what feels right.

3. I cannot break character. Ever.

If a friend sees me in class and asks, “Why are you wearing a collared shirt and tie?” Or, “Why do you keep looking away to make that face?” I cannot answer. I will have to say something like, “What do you mean?” and then make a face.

4. I have to construct similar dynamics in my day-to-day relationships.

Jim’s work day will become my school day; his office is my classroom. So, in each of my classes I will have to find a Pam, a Dwight, and a Michael. Both “Pam” and “Dwight” will be dictated partially by geography (Pam must be to my right, Dwight to my left) and partly by personality. (Pam must be cute and demur, Dwight must be intense and annoying.)

Generally speaking, I will be trying to make my life as similar to Jim Halpert’s as humanly possible. I do not know what sort of effect this will have on others’ attitudes towards me. Hopefully, it makes everyone (especially women) love the living crap out of me.

5 Responses to “My Life as Jim Halpert: The Ground Rules”


  1. 1 Jesse December 11, 2010 at 10:53 pm

    I like this idea, and I am going to emulate it.

  2. 2 ganar dinero en casa internet January 5, 2013 at 2:48 am

    Hey! I just wanted to ask if you ever have any problems with hackers?

    My last blog (wordpress) was hacked and I ended up losing several weeks of hard work due to no backup.
    Do you have any solutions to protect against hackers?

  3. 3 car wash business April 15, 2013 at 4:57 am

    Good respond in return of this matter with genuine arguments and explaining the whole thing on the topic of that.

  4. 4 corporate online reputation management August 7, 2013 at 10:33 pm

    I really like what you guys tend to be up too. Such clever work and reporting!
    Keep up the superb works guys I’ve included you guys to our blogroll.

  5. 5 apuestas y apuestas July 22, 2014 at 4:43 am

    Very shortly this site will be famous amid all blogging and site-building
    people, due to it’s fastidious articles


Leave a Reply

